The Progressive Populist: Dispatches: Lines Drawn on Fast-Track Trade Authority

The following is an excellent article from the June 15, 2015 issue of The Progressive Populist on page 22 titled “Dispatches: Lines Drawn on Fast-Track Trade Authority” and I quote:

“LINES DRAWN ON FAST-TRACK TRADE AUTHORITY. The Senate approved the Trade Promotion Authority, which is designed to make it easier to pass the Trans-Pacific Partnership and other trade deals during the next six years (5/22). The vote was 62-38 on cloture, which required 60 votes to proceed, and 62-37 on final passage. Voting to keep up the filibuster, against President Obama and the Republican majority, were 31 Democrats and two Dem-leaning indies, including Tammy Baldwin (Wis.), Richard Blumenthal (Conn.), Cory Booker (N.J.), Barbara Boxer (Calif.), Sherrod Brown (Ohio), Ben Cardin (Md.), Robert Casey (Pa.), Joe Donnelly (Ind.), Dick Durbin (Ill.), Al Franken (Minn.), Kirsten Gillibrand (N.Y.), Martin Heinrich (N.M.), Mazie Hirono (Hi.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (Minn.), Pat Leahy (Vt.), Joe Manchin (W.V.), Ed Markey (Mass.), Robert Menendez (N.J.), Jeff Merkley (Ore.), Barbara Mikulski (Md.), Chris Murphy (Conn.), Gary Peters (Mich.), Jack Reed (R.I.), Harry Reid (Nev.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Brian Schatz (Hi.), Chuck Schumer (N.Y.), Debbie Stabenow (Mich.), Jon Tester (Mont.), Tom Udall (N.M.), Elizabeth Warren (Mass.) and Sheldon Whitehouse (R.I.).

Republicans voting against fast track were Susan Collins (Maine), Mike Lee (Utah), Rand Paul (Ky.), Jeff Sessions (Ala.) and Richard Shelby (Ala.).

The 13 Democrats who sided with 48 Republicans to clear the way for the fast-track bill were Sens. Michael Bennet (Colo.), Tom Carper (Del.), Chris Coons (Del.), Maria Cantwell (Wash.), Dianne Feinstein (Calif.), Heidi Heitkamp (N.D.), Tim Kaine (Va.), Claire McCaskill (Mo.), Patty Murray (Wash.), Bill Nelson (Fla.), Jeanne Shaheen (N.H.), Mark Warner (Va.), and Ron Wyden (Ore.). Sen. Ben Cardin (D-Md.) voted against cloture but ended up voting for the bill, which passed 62-37. (Bennet, Murray and Wyden are up for re-election in 2016, and Leo W. Gerard, president of United Steelworkers, told MSNBC’s Ed Schultz, “Bad votes will be remembered.”)”

[THIS IS A VERY REVEALING ARTICLE OF WHY 31 DEMOCRATS AND 2 INDEPENDENTS VOTED AGAINST THE REPUBLICANS, WHO ALL FAVOR FAST TRACK AND THE TPP.  ISSUES LIKE THIS ARE SELDOM REPORTED ON IN THE MAINSTREAM MEDIA.  GIVING THE EXACT NAMES, IS WHY I TAKE THE PROGRESSIVE POPULIST FROM STORM LAKE, IOWA.  FAST TRACK IS SURE GETTING A LOT OF ATTENTION AT THE G-7 MEETING IN MUNICH, GERMANY, WHERE 34,000 DEMONSTRATORS OPPOSING TPP WAS THE MAJORITY SO LONG AS THEY KEEP VOTING WITH THE MAJORITY, THEY SHOULD WIN, PARTICULARLY IF THE MEDIA IS UNBIASED.

LaVern Isely, Progressive, Overtaxed, Independent Middle Class Taxpayer and Public Citizen and AARP Members

About tim074

I'm a retired dairy farmer that was a member of the National Farmer's Organization (NFO). Before going farming, I spent 4 years in the United States Air Force where I saved up enough money to get my down payment to go farming. I also enjoy writing and reading biographies and I write about myself as well as articles and excerpts I find interesting. I'm specifically interested in finances, particularly in the banking industry because if it wasn't for help from my local Community Bank, I never could have started farming which I was successful at. So, I'm real interested in the Small Business Administration and I know they are the ones creating jobs. I have been a member of Common Cause and am now a member of Public Citizen as well as AARP. I have, in the past, written over 150 articles on the Obama Blog (my.barackobama.com) and I'd like to tie these two sites together. I'm also on Twitter, MySpace and Facebook and find these outlets terrifically interesting particularly what many of these people did concerning the uprising in the Arab world. I believe this is a smaller world than we think it is and my goal is to try to bring people together to live in peace because management needs labor like labor needs management. Up to now, that hasn't been so easy to find.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

