The Monroe Times: Letter to the Editor: What Role Will Government Play in Social Security?

The following is an article I had published in our local paper, The Monroe Times, on October 5, 2015 in their “Letters to the Editor” column titled “What Role Will Government Play in Social Security?” and I quote:

“The Republican Party has finished their second presidential debate, which drew a record television audience. Even though it was on for three hours, sad to say, not all the people that had television could watch the debate because it was on cable. It should have been on all the major networks, PBS, ABC, NBC, and CBS, so that every person that owned a television could watch and make up their own mind. They should not have to be hit with a barrage of opinions from the cable people who sponsored the program and why they favor their favorite candidate.
I’d personally like to see candidates speak out from the view of the middle class because, while big government can get too big favoring certain issues, such as the Pentagon and larger military spending, you could also throw in corporate agriculture. Why should you go out and favor bigger dairy farms, when in Europe, they are dumping milk because of huge surpluses, driving the prices down?
Some of the machinery on the road is so wide that when you meet them or follow them, that you see the machinery they are pulling is over the center line. Dairy cows that used to last up to 15 years are now being sold at four years old and I imagine a lot of that is caused by the fact that pasture rotation is healthier for the cattle and that the cow, herself, goes out and harvests her own food, rather than having mechanization bringing it to the cows.
Another question I’m watching is what role the government is going to play on Social Security, which is an “EARNED BENEFIT” that we paid for, for our retirement when we get old. While most of the Democrats feel we need Medicare, which is a separate program, which we pay a monthly premium to have because we knew that medical costs were going up even faster than the cost of living. The Republican answer is to get rid of Medicare and put the Social Security money in the stock market, which, when I hear a candidate talking that way, I cross them off my list of candidates.
We must keep up with the cost of living because our medical costs are climbing and we must preserve Social Security for our children. So hopefully, each party comes up with the best candidate for the good of our country.”

(THE DEMOCRATS ARE GOING TO HAVE THEIR FIRST PRESIDENTIAL DEBATE OCTOBER 13, 2015 AND NEITHER ONE OF THE THEIR LEADING CANDIDATES, HILLARY CLINTON OR SENATOR BERNIE SANDERS, ARE TALKING ABOUT PUTTING SOCIAL SECURITY MONEY IN THE STOCK MARKET.  IF WE’RE EVER GOING TO GET OUT FEDERAL BILLS PAID, WE’RE GOING TO HAVE TO RAISE THE TOP FEDERAL INCOME TAX RATE HIGHER THAN 39.6 PERCENT.  I BELIEVE MAYBE TO THE POINT OF 49.6 PERCENT, RATHER THAN WHAT THE REPUBLICANS ARE PROPOSING, WHICH IS TO LOWER IT TO AT LEAST 28 PERCENT OR LOWER, WHICH WOULD REALLY BE A WINDFALL FOR BILLIONAIRES LIKE THE KOCH BROTHERS AND OTHERS.  OF COURSE, THIS WOULD ALL BE PERFECTLY LEGAL BECAUSE THE REPUBLICANS CONTROL THE HOUSE AND THE SENATE.  THEIR ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT DEMOCRATIC PRESIDENT, BARACK OBAMA, WOULD VETO THEIR ELITIST INCOME TAX PROPOSAL.  WATCH BOTH PARTIES PRESIDENTIAL DEBATES AND VOTE FOR THE CANDIDATE THAT REPRESENTS YOUR OWN CLASS JUST LIKE THE BILLIONAIRES DO.

LaVern Isely, Progressive, Overtaxed, Independent Middle Class Taxpayer and Public Citizen Member and USAF Veteran

About tim074

I'm a retired dairy farmer that was a member of the National Farmer's Organization (NFO). Before going farming, I spent 4 years in the United States Air Force where I saved up enough money to get my down payment to go farming. I also enjoy writing and reading biographies and I write about myself as well as articles and excerpts I find interesting. I'm specifically interested in finances, particularly in the banking industry because if it wasn't for help from my local Community Bank, I never could have started farming which I was successful at. So, I'm real interested in the Small Business Administration and I know they are the ones creating jobs. I have been a member of Common Cause and am now a member of Public Citizen as well as AARP. I have, in the past, written over 150 articles on the Obama Blog (my.barackobama.com) and I'd like to tie these two sites together. I'm also on Twitter, MySpace and Facebook and find these outlets terrifically interesting particularly what many of these people did concerning the uprising in the Arab world. I believe this is a smaller world than we think it is and my goal is to try to bring people together to live in peace because management needs labor like labor needs management. Up to now, that hasn't been so easy to find.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

