The Monroe Times: Letter to the Editor: This is Why the 99 Percent Should Have Voted

The following is an article I had in my local paper, The Monroe Times, in their “Letters to the Editor” column on April 1, 2017 titled “Letter to the Editor: This is Why the 99 Percent Should Have Voted” and I quote:

3/31/2017 10:39:00 PM
“Letter to the editor: This is why the 99 percent should have voted”
From LaVern F. Isely
Monroe

To the editor:

Republican President Donald Trump has been president now for over two months. He said one of the first things he was going to do was get rid of Obamacare, how much money we would save, and how easy it would be to do.

While the Republicans control Congress, there was a possibility he could get it done in the first 100 days but it didn’t work out that way. While Trump was saying he blamed the Democrats for not supporting it, it was the Republicans who controlled Congress that defeated Trumpcare led by the Freedom Caucus.

Since no person can be turned away from a hospital if they need care, we might as well establish a healthcare system that works and is the most reasonable. It’s going to take some time to get this done even if both parties work together.

Now, Trump says he’s going to work on tax reform. If they reduce the top rate from 39.6 percent to 33 percent, and go from seven brackets to three, it should be another loss for the Republican Party because giving the richest billionaires tax breaks, when they are already making record profits, will also create more inequality, more anger from the 99 percent and more phone calls that are not being answered like Sen. Ron Johnson does. Nobody answers his phone and in some cases, there’s no tapes you can comment on, only a message that says the mailbox is full.

Also, there is a Supreme Court nominee who has to be confirmed by the Senate and it has to have 60 Senators voting in favor, out of a total of 100 Senators. Since the Republicans control Congress and the presidency, they could change that to a 50-50 vote with the vice president breaking a tie, rather than select another candidate that both parties can agree on, which is the way I think it should be left at 60 votes.

Since Trump wants to get this done in the first 100 days, he’s going to have to answer the question if there was Trump-Russia connections in the 2016 election with the Intelligence Committees in both House and Senate investigating.

I’m glad we live in a two-party system and not run our country like communist countries do. I’ve never missed voting for president since I was in the Air Force and President Eisenhower was in office.”

(WHEN PRES DONALD TRUMP RAN FOR PRESIDENT, HE SAID HE WAS GOING TO MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN AND I IMAGINE SOME DEMOCRATS MIGHT HAVE EVEN VOTED FOR HIM FOR THAT REASON AND A LOT OF THEM STAYED HOME BUT SINCE THEN, HIS TRUMPCARE, WHICH HE SAID WAS HIS FIRST PRIORITY, FAILED BECAUSE OF THE REPUBLICANS WOULDN’T EVEN SUPPORT IT.  PRES TRUMP LIES AND BLAMES THE DEMOCRATS.  IF HE WANTS HIS SUPREME COURT CANDIDATE CONFIRMED, IT’S ALWAYS BEEN BY 60 VOTES IN THE SENATE, WHICH SHOULD BE LEFT AT 60 BUT THE REPUBLICANS ARE TALKING ABOUT CHANGING IT, WHICH WOULD NOT BE STRENGTHENING OUR DEMOCRATIC SYSTEM BUT WEAKENING IT.  AS FOR LOWERING THE TOP RATE OF THE FEDERAL INCOME TAX SYSTEM, SO THE WEALTHY CAN MAKE MORE MONEY FOR THE ELITIST ONE PERCENT, SHOULD REALLY WAKE UP THE 99 PERCENT.

LaVern Isely, Progressive, Overtaxed, Independent Middle Class Taxpayer and Public Citizen Member and USAF Veteran

About tim074

I'm a retired dairy farmer that was a member of the National Farmer's Organization (NFO). Before going farming, I spent 4 years in the United States Air Force where I saved up enough money to get my down payment to go farming. I also enjoy writing and reading biographies and I write about myself as well as articles and excerpts I find interesting. I'm specifically interested in finances, particularly in the banking industry because if it wasn't for help from my local Community Bank, I never could have started farming which I was successful at. So, I'm real interested in the Small Business Administration and I know they are the ones creating jobs. I have been a member of Common Cause and am now a member of Public Citizen as well as AARP. I have, in the past, written over 150 articles on the Obama Blog (my.barackobama.com) and I'd like to tie these two sites together. I'm also on Twitter, MySpace and Facebook and find these outlets terrifically interesting particularly what many of these people did concerning the uprising in the Arab world. I believe this is a smaller world than we think it is and my goal is to try to bring people together to live in peace because management needs labor like labor needs management. Up to now, that hasn't been so easy to find.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

