The Proud Liberal: Official Resolution of ‘No Confidence’ was Just Filed in Congress

The following is an excellent article written by Kristin M. Bunbury on The Proud Liberal website on July 21, 2017 titled “Official Resolution of ‘No Confidence’ was Just Filed in Congress” and I quote:

“Official Resolution of ‘No Confidence’ was Just Filed in Congress”

Congressman Steve Cohen (D-TN) is leading House Democrats in a “No Confidence” resolution against president Trump. At a news conference Wednesday, Cohen said, “It’s just a sad day for Americans that we’ve come to this point. The way he talks about women, the press, the language he uses, the use of Twitter — you don’t want him to be a role model. It’s injurious to our culture, and it’s injurious to … our foreign policy.”

In total, the resolution contains 88 points of contention, many of which pertain to his business dealings since having taken office. Typically, this would be a non-issue as all of his Trump Organization assets would be in a blind trust. President Trump’s assets are handled by his sons and a lawyer. It was announced a few months after the president took office that his trust is set up in such a way that he can still access and/or move funds whenever he likes.

There’s no doubt that the resolution will die in the House. With No Confidence, it’s the thought that counts. No Confidence voting often takes place within parliamentary democracies. Even there, the votes don’t have any real power in and of themselves. But in the case of the current resolution against Trump, House Democrats now have a widely disseminated document detailing his failures within just the first six months of his presidency.

The resolution makes a list of demands, including that Mr Trump must release his tax returns, that he must divest his private business assets, that he must “refrain from using Twitter inappropriately,” to “unequivocally acknowledge that Russia interfered in the 2016 United States Presidential election,” and that Trump must support the First Amendment (freedom of speech) by supporting the freedom of the press and refrain from calling reporting ‘‘fake news.”

I’ve got a feeling Trump will use Twitter inappropriately about this.”

(THE DEMOCRATS ARE FINALLY GETTING ORGANIZED, ACCORDING TO SEN CHUCK SCHUMER IN THE SENATE AND IN THE HOUSE, REP NANCY PELOSI WITH A NEW PROGRAM CALLED “A BETTER DEAL.”   WITH PEOPLE LIKE DEMOCRATIC CONGRESSMAN STEVE COHEN OF TENNESSEE WHO FILED A RESOLUTION OF ‘NO CONFIDENCE,’ I CAN SEE WHERE THEY ARE STARTING TO GET ORGANIZED AND IF THE NEW DNC CHAIR, TOM PEREZ GOT OUT AND PROMOTED THIS, IT WOULD GET MORE DEMOCRATS TO TAKE ACTION, IT WILL ENCOURAGE THEM TO CALL THEIR LEGISLATORS AND TELL THEM WE HAVE HAD ENOUGH OF THE ELITIST RIGHT-WING BILLIONAIRES RUNNING THE COUNTRY THROUGH ORGANIZATIONS LIKE ALEC.

LaVern Isely, Progressive, Overtaxed, Independent Middle Class Taxpayer and Public Citizen Member and USAF Veteran

About tim074

I'm a retired dairy farmer that was a member of the National Farmer's Organization (NFO). Before going farming, I spent 4 years in the United States Air Force where I saved up enough money to get my down payment to go farming. I also enjoy writing and reading biographies and I write about myself as well as articles and excerpts I find interesting. I'm specifically interested in finances, particularly in the banking industry because if it wasn't for help from my local Community Bank, I never could have started farming which I was successful at. So, I'm real interested in the Small Business Administration and I know they are the ones creating jobs. I have been a member of Common Cause and am now a member of Public Citizen as well as AARP. I have, in the past, written over 150 articles on the Obama Blog (my.barackobama.com) and I'd like to tie these two sites together. I'm also on Twitter, MySpace and Facebook and find these outlets terrifically interesting particularly what many of these people did concerning the uprising in the Arab world. I believe this is a smaller world than we think it is and my goal is to try to bring people together to live in peace because management needs labor like labor needs management. Up to now, that hasn't been so easy to find.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

